What is the average salary of a professor of biology or biochemistry? I think that the people who answer the questions here are mostly professors, so maybe you could start by telling me your salary - if you don't mind. Any tips you would give to a student that is thinking about studying a science like biochemistry to then be a professor?

Hi Adrian,

I should start by saying I am not a Professor (yet!), but I think it's fairly safe to say that no one on this website went into science for the money. We could all be making a lot more cash if we had gone into other professions. That's not to say Professors are paid poorly (although it varies considerably between countries, universities etc.), but simply that it takes a long time to get there.

I am already 27 and yet I still don't have my PhD. My studentship (a salary of sorts) is similar in value to an entry-level administrative office job. Whereas many of my friends that graduated at the same time as me and went into 'normal' graduate jobs are on double that or more.

After I finish my PhD I will be looking for (better paid) post-doctoral positions, which normally only last one to a few years and can be thin on the ground (often requiring us to search all over the world). Most of us will take a few of these before being offered a permanent position, if we are offered one at all. It will be many years later before - and again, if - I achieve the rank of Professor.

It is important to point out that nobody is a 'shoe-in' for a professorship, even if you have a PhD. So there is a sacrifice both in terms of money and job security that most of us have made (and are making) to get as far as we are now.

Of course there is a pay off to what we do - each of us are discovering things about the world that nobody before us has ever known - we get paid to do what we enjoy!

A final point I should make is that you can make a lot of money in biology by entering industry (e.g. medical science, pharmacology etc.).

Hi,