I am a student in year 10 currently forming a debate on whether creationism should be taught in schools as part of the science curriculum. Your views as an institute on this topic would be greatly appreciated in relation to Darwinism and evidence of evolution, whether creationism should be taught on the science syllabus or even at all and your personal views on this matter.

creationism or ID is not science it is a belief. It has no place in science teaching. If it is to be taught in schools (and my personal view is it should not be) then it should be restricted to religious studies.

I would add that creationists do sometimes argue that scientific data support their viewpoint, but virtually all of these arguments have been shown repeatedly to be wrong. People who persist in making them are either badly informed about the actual science (not necessarily through any fault of their own), or simply dishonest. The evidence against creationism is so overwhelming that teaching it in science class would be a bit like teaching that diseases are caused by curses and devils instead of viruses and bacteria, or that the sun orbits the Earth instead of vice-versa.