What is the latest consensus on the position of the pteroid and it's effect on the propatagium? I'm a natural history illustrator (mostly birds and dinosaurs, oops, I mean avian and non-avian dinosaurs!) and not being a pterosaur expert (just a plain zoology degree) I'm a little confused as to which way to point the pteroid in my paintings. Chris Bennett was pretty convincing in rebutting Unwin's view in an email conversation we had, but I would like to get as wide ranging a view point as I can, to be fair to all parties.
Any ideas?
Many thanks,
Andrew Plant,
Melbourne,
Australia.

Well Andrew, Dino Frey has a new paper just out on this very problem with a new genus of almost unspellable nytosauroid pterosaur (Muzquizopteryx) that has a complete wrist preserved in articulation (with a sesamoid bone for those in the know). Basically this shows that Chris Bennett was right on the money, and that the pteroid does indeed articulate in such a way that it faces medially.

(For the uninitiated, the pteroid is a special wristbone in pterosaurs that supports a kind of 'front-wing' called the propatagium. There has long been a debate about how exactly it functioned).

In short, the propatagium is therefore (relatively) small and probably runs only from the wrist to shoulder. Of course, there might be an additional small membrane to the outside of the wrist, and close in, it might reach partly onto the neck.