I guess this is a silly question. I mean, shouldn't all PhD biologists know so much about genetics -- the theory of evolution that they can't see "diversity of life" coming about any other way? Then we have scientists like Michael Behe or neurosurgeon Michael Egnor telling us that evolution is a theory in crisis (basically).

How many biologists believe in evolution?  All but two of them (Michael Behe and Michael Egnor).  Seriously: the consensus is absolutely overwhelming.

(And by the way, Michael Behe believes in evolution, too: he just thinks that at a few critical junctures, a supernatural mechanism needed to be involved.  Despite his involvement with ID/creationism, Behe accepts that classic Darwinian descent-with-modification is the engine behind the great majority of organismal change through time.)

For a slightly pedantic response, I'm a biologist and I don't "believe" in evolution, I simply accept it as the best working hypothesis to explain the diversity of life on Earth. The evidence for evolution being the mechanism for speciation and variation is absolutely overwhelming - but we should always question our paradigms!

Behe and Egnor (and anyone else) are free to find fault with evolutionary theory, but without unequivocal evidence in support of opinions, they remain just that - opinions. Without support the supernatural is invoked because the supernatural provides a simple cultural - but not scientific -  mechanism for dealing with gaps in our knowledge. Since biologists are scientists they avoid invoking supernatural involvement in evolution, regardless of their personal beliefs. This doesn't mean that there aren't plenty of biologists who think there may be supernatural involvement, it just means that they are able to see that such opinions are not valid in a scientific forum because there is no evidence.