I was originally going to ask about the evolutionary advantage for menstrual synchrony, but I was operating under two assumptions: a) it does actually happen and b) the effect is caused by pheremones. 

Based on some poking around on the internet, it is appearing that this idea (published by Martha McClintock in the 70's), is under question--people are criticizing her studies and some say that this effect does not actually occur.

So my new question is:  Is there any sort of scientific consensus?  If not, what do you all think?  Thoughts?  Speculation?

If it is plausible, why might it have evolved?  What advantage would it confer?

Thanks guys, I love this website!  :)

Well I never, you are absoultely right! We were taught this as absolute fact when I was a med student in the late 70s and its interesting to look at the primary data now and see how flawed it is! As a neurobiologist who principally works on rodents where it is for sure a proven fact - it always seemed to me entirely reasonable that by extension it would happen in female humans. A perfect example of why one should not assume anything and test every hypothesis rigorously!

The URL below, nicely summarises the issues and speculates on possible causes (assuming it does happen).
http://www.menstruation.com.au/periodpa … hrony.html

very many thanks for highlighting this issue Sara - I learned something new today!

Can't say I know anything about this at all ... but being intrigued I just had a look at the website David highlighted and what I would say is that IF menstrual synchrony does happen then some of the possible causes mentioned look a bit shaky to me.

There is a lot of "for the good of the tribe" stuff in there, which (from an evolutionary biologist's perspective) doesn't tie in too well with current thinking in social evolution.