Hi,

I know that you'll probably hear this a lot, but ever since I was a kid I loved dinosaurs. When I got older, I would grab any textbook or resource book about them and I would study it. I watched as many documentaries as I could find and researched things online about them...But I also looked at their climate, and dating rocks and things like that. I did this up until grade 8 or 9. It has always been my dream to become a paleontologist, even now it's my one and only dream. When I talk about it to people they say my eyes light up with passion, up until they ask me why I stopped studying it. So here is my problem: I'm not good at math at all. I don't understand it very well, unless it was in Essentials of math, but never anything higher.

So is there a way for me to still become a paleontologist while being completely inept at mathematics? Or should I give up?

Thank you!

It is possible certainly. I work in palaeontology and I am no maths whiz. It has been a major disadvantage for me and it can be a problem. You should work hard to improve your maths, it will help. But it is *possible* yes.

Yes, it's possible.  I know a couple of very productive palaeontologists who are not very good at maths, and one who has trouble with calculating percentages.

But mathematical competence will give you a huge advantage, and learning some statistics in particular will be very helpful.  I strongly suggest that you redouble your efforts to master maths rather than seeking a side-path that will let you skip it.  Do the work.  Give yourself every advantage.

nothing is impossible but maths is always important in science. most of the best mathematicians I know in biology did not start out that way. Rather they are often people who saw that maths skills were important and worked hard to improve their own areas of weakness, then at some point realised they had overtaken everyon else by accident!