I am a primary teacher in Oxford, and at the end of last term my class Year 3 (7-8 year olds) discussed what they would like to find out for their science topic 'helping plants grow well'. One little girl in my class gave this much thought and asked 'why don't plam trees fall down during a tsunami? We could have simply googled this, but I know it would mean a lot to her and my class to have an expert answer it for us. Any help you could provide would be greatly appreciated.

Best Wishes,

Miss Burt.

I have never seen the impacts of a tsunami myself (thankfully!) but have been through many cyclones, including the massive tropical cyclone Yasi and the very fast moving tropical cyclone Larry in north-eastern Australia. I have subsequently done quite a lot of work on how palms are affected by strong winds, and tsunami impacts will be very similar, as both concern very high pressure (from water or wind) passing the palm from a single direction.